My Mum ate my homework

Homework, for four-year olds, really? OK, so the twinlings aren’t bringing home quadratic equations (just as well really) but every night they do bring a reading book each and once a week we add to their sound books, where they practise writing, drawing and sticking – all related to the sounds of the week. This week it was ‘ck’, ‘u’, ‘r’ and ‘e’.

The problem is they’re so tired in the evening they want me to read to them, not the other way around. When I open the book and start talking about the characters, Chip, Biff and whoever else, the calls of ‘just read it’ are so strongly voiced we’ve now struck a deal that I read it first, then they ‘read’ it, which seems to be working. Plus there’s a good bit of competition going between them to be the first to find the words. I’ve also started trying to get the sound book done at the weekend, Ladybird still blows several raspberries in the direction of the table and likens her homework to excrement, before capitulating and joining Pickle at the table. But at least the pain of getting it done is kept to just one hour at the weekend, with DH coerced into getting involved, rather than me trying to fit it in with dinner, baths and tantrums during the week.

On the plus side, the sound book work has produced some surprising achievements and some amusing results. This week Pickle, who normally shuns writing of any sorts, wrote the word ‘rain’, while Ladybird drew a picture of a duck, complete with nipples and a belly button.

But I remain unconvinced that there’s room for these extra jobs, for me or the twinlings. I’m all for getting involved with helping them to learn, but the formality of homework versus taking some time out to sit down with them and let them learn while we all play, seems to me to be more important at this age.

Pickle’s ‘r’ picture and writing
Ladybird's duck

Ladybird's Duck a la nipple

1 Comment

Filed under Homework, Starting school

One response to “My Mum ate my homework

  1. I completely agree with you! My daughter isn’t anywhere near going to school yet, but when she does I think we will be ignoring quite a few of the homework requests. I used to work with children who would get really stressed about homework and SATs and I do think there is too much pressure on very young little people.

Leave a Reply

